View your shopping cart.

Unprotected Texts: The Bible's Surprising Contradictions about Sex and Desire

Sitewide Banner Message

The Well Bookstore is now open for in-person shopping on Sundays from 8:30am-12:30pm (curbside pickup not available), Monday, Tuesday and Thursday 9:00 am to 4:00 pm and Wednesday 9:00am to 7:00pm (curbside pickup not available after 4pm). All orders placed online or over the phone after 2:00p.m. on Thursdays may not be processed until the following Monday.   

Our curbside pickup is on the North side of Building B at the intersection of 137th and Briar.  There is a Well Bookstore Curbside Pickup sign at the base of the staircase.  Call the number on the sign during our operating hours and we will bring your order to your car.   

The Well Bookstore will be closed Wednesday, October 13th from 9am-Noon for a mandatory all-staff training. We apologize for any inconvenience this causes.

Unprotected Texts: The Bible's Surprising Contradictions about Sex and Desire
$15.99
"An explosive, fascinating book that reveals how the Bible cannot be used as a rulebook when it comes to sex. A terrific read by a top scholar." --Bart Ehrman, author of Misquoting Jesus

Boston University's cutting-edge religion scholar Jennifer Wright Knust reveals the Bible's contradictory messages about sex in this thoughtful, riveting, and timely reexploration of the letter of the gospels. In the tradition of Bart Erhman's Jesus Interrupted and John Shelby Spong's Sins of Scripture, Knust's Unprotected Texts liberates us from the pervasive moralizing--the fickle dos and don'ts--so often dictated by religious demagogues. Knust's powerful reading offers a return to the scripture, away from the mere slogans to which it is so often reduced.
ISBN/SKU: 
9780061725395
Publication Date: 
2012-02-07
Pages: 
343
Weight: 
1.01
Binding: 
Paperback
Publisher: 
0